The National Assembly Service Commission is a government organization saddled with the responsibility of managing the work force of the National Assembly. All staff appointment, promotion, salary payment, transfer or secondment to other government ministries, agency or parastatals.

On the recommendation of the senate president and the Leader of the House of Representative, the President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria appoints the leadership of the commission which consist of a chairman and 12 other members, also known as Commissioners. These Leadership are to run a five years tenure after which they are eligible for another one term only. At least 2 members of the leadership is drawn from the six geo-political zones in the country.

There is also a Secretary, who is the accounting officer of the  Commission and is responsible for the day to day administration of the Commission as well as the keeping of books and proper records of  the proceedings of the Commission.

The Commission is made up of the following components:


  1. Office of the Chairman.
  2. Legal Services Unit.
  3. Internal Audit Unit.
  4. Protocol and Public Relations Unit.
  5. Offices of the Commissioners.
  6. Office of the Secretary to the Commission.
  7. Legislative Aide Division.
  8. Department of Administration and Supplies.
  9. Department of Finance and Accounts.
  10. Department of Planning, Research, Statistics and Computer Services.
  11. Department of Appointment, Promotions, Discipline & Appeals.