The National Assembly Service Commission is a government organization saddled with the responsibility of managing the work force of the National Assembly. All staff appointment, promotion, salary payment, transfer or secondment to other government ministries, agency or parastatals.

On the recommendation of the Senate President and the Speaker of the House of Representatives, the President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria appoints the leadership of the Commission which consists of a Chairman and 12 other members, also known as Commissioners. This Leadership is to run a five year tenure after which they are eligible for another term of five years. At least 2 members of the leadership are drawn from the six geo-political zones of the country.

There is also a Secretary, who is the accounting officer of the Commission and is responsible for the day to day administration of the Commission as well as the keeping of books and proper records of the proceedings of the Commission.

The Commission is made up of the following components:

  1. Office of the Chairman.
  2. Legal Services Division.
  3. Internal Audit Division.
  4. Protocol and Public Relations Division.
  5. Offices of the Commissioners.
  6. Office of the Secretary to the Commission.
  7. Department of Zonal Offices & Legislative Aides (ZO&LA)
  8. Department of Administration and Employee Relations (A&ER).
  9. Department of Finance and Accounts.(F&A)
  10. Department of Planning, Research & Information Technology (PRIT)
  11. Department of  Promotions, Discipline & Appeals (PDA).
  12. Department of Establishment, Record & Training (ER&T)
  13. Department of Procurement & General Services (P&GS)