Plot 664 T.O.S. Benson Crescent, Utako 900108 Abuja +23408033423155

Brief Introduction About National Assembly Service Commission

The National Assembly Service Commission is one of the organs of the Nigerian Legislature. It is vested with the powers of Appointment, Promotion and Discipline of staff of the National Assembly Service as well as establishing working conditions and Scheme of service for the staff. The other organs of the Legislature are the Public Complaints Commission (PCC), National Institute for Legislative and Democratic Studies (NILDS), National Assembly Service Management (NASS, MGT) and National Assembly Budget and Research Office (NABRO).

The Commission was established vide National Assembly Service Commission Act 2000 which was amended as National Assembly Service Act 2014 that made it autonomous in decision making and procedures. The law protects the Commission against administrative and political interference in discharging its responsibilities.
The law also ensures that the Commission has a balanced representation in the composition of the National Assembly Service personnel in accordance with the Federal Character principle provided for in section 3(9) of the National Assembly Service Act 2014 (As Amended) and enshrined in section 14 (3) of the Constitution (As Amended).

A Member of the Commission shall hold office for a period of 5 years from the date of his appointment and he may be reappointed for another term of 5 years and no more. In carrying out its mandate, the Commission strives to ensure that the principles of fairness, equity, justice and the rule of law are adhered to in all its operations.

In carrying out its mandate, the Commission strives to ensure that the principles of fairness, equity, justice and the rule of law are adhered to in all its operations.

Evolution of National Assembly Service Commission

First Commission

The first Commission was made up of a Chairman and six (6) Members. The subsequent Commissions had a Chairman and twelve (12) Members; two from each of the six geo-political zones of the country.

The First Commission was established with the NASC Act 1981. Its Board was inaugurated in July, 1982 and was made up of the following Membership:

  • 1. Alh. Dr. Othman Ladan-Baki Chairman
  • 2. Dr. Simi Johnson Member
  • 3. Mr. James Taggert Member
  • 4. Alh. Abbas Haruna Member
  • 5. Mr. V. E. Equali Member
  • 6. Mr. H. A. Reuben Daka Member
  • 7. Mr. A. Jatau Fikiya Member
The First Commission was dissolved following the military takeover of 1985.

Second Commission

The Second Commission was established by the NASC Act 2000 and inaugurated in June 2001 with the following Membership:

  • 1. Mr. Ishaya D. Akau Chairman
  • 2. Chief Samuel AkandeMember North-Central
  • 3. Mr. Simon P. M. Gunkat Member North-Central
  • 4. Ambassador Aliyu D. Hassan Member North-East
  • 5. Alh. Ibrahim Gana Member North-East
  • 6. Alh. Bilyaminu M. Lawal Member North-West
  • 7. Alh. Mu'azu A. Danzaki Member North-West
  • 8. Eze John N. Nwenyi, JP Member South-East
  • 9. Senator (Engr.) Onyeka A. Okoroafor Member South-East
  • 10. High Chief Hon. (Dr.) Tom Egbuwoku Member South-South

Third Commission

The Third Commission was inaugurated in September 2006 with the following Membership:

  • 1. Engr. Ahmed Aliyu Dogondaji CON, FNSE, mni Chairman
  • 2. Hon. Ohepo A. Ejiga Member North-Central
  • 3. Hajia Talatu O. Umaru Member North-Central
  • 4. Mal. Idi Adamu Ningi Member North-Eastt
  • 5. Alh. Sa’adu Aminu Member North-East
  • 6. Alh. Ibrahim Adamu S. K. Danja Member North-West
  • 7. Comrade Aminu A. Gwarzo Member North-West
  • 8. Dr. Dennis C. Nwachukwu Member South-East
  • 9. Engr. Aloy Onochie Member South-East
  • 10. Hon. Emmanuel Justus Ntuk Member South-South
  • 11. Hon. Ambrose Imoode Member South-South
  • 12. Surv. Enoch A. Olaniyan Member South-Westh
  • 13. Elder A. O. Bolarinwa Member South-West
  • **14. Barr. Kalu Uko Member South-East ** Replaced Dr. Dennis C. Nwachuwku who resigned in 2010
  • Secretary to the Commission Chief B. N. Osuji

Fourth Commission

The Fourth Commission was inaugurated in July, 2013 with the following Membership:

  • 1. Dr. Adamu M. Fika, OFR, mni Chairman
  • 2. Alh. Abdulkadir S. Abugi Member North-Central
  • 3. Elder Stephen Idako Yepwi Member North-Central
  • 4. Mallam Idi Adamu Ningi Member North-East
  • 5. Sen. Dahiru Bako Gassol Member North-East
  • 6. Alh. Abubakar T. G. Rufa’i Member North-West
  • 7. Alh. Aliyu S. Abubakar III Member North-West
  • 8. Rt. Hon. Barr. Godfrey K. Dikeocha Member South-East
  • 9. Rt. Hon. Abel U. Chukwu Member South-East
  • 10. Dr. (Barr.) Paul Oweh Member South-South
  • 11. Mr. Joseph Okpa Oru Member South-South
  • 12. Barr. Lamuye 'Funmilola Adewumi Member South-West
  • 13. Mrs. Risikat Oyebimpe Alabi Member South-West
  • Acting Secretary to the Commission Mr. Olusanya Ajakaiye (Dec. 2012 – Jan. 2014)
  • Substantive Secretary to the Commission Mrs. Mary Adenike Ibikunle, (NPOM) (Jan. 2014 – April 2017)
  • The Fourth Commission’s tenure ended in July, 2018.

Fifth Commission

The Fifth Commission was inaugurated on Wednesday 26th February, 2020 with the following Membership:

  • 1. Engr. Ahmad Kadi Amshi Chairman
  • 2. Alh. Auwalu Aliyu Ohindase Member North- Central
  • 3. Mua’zu Is’haq, mni Member North-Central
  • 4. Hon. Babagana Modu Member North-East
  • 5. Sen. Abubakar Tutare Member North-East
  • 6. Hon. Bailyaminu Yusuf Shinkafi Member North-West
  • 7. Sani Saidu Kazaure Member North-West
  • 8. Senator Julius Ucha Member South-East
  • 9. Engr. Bassey Olusegun Etuk Member South South
  • 10. Hon. Chief Atanomeyovwi Francis, JP Member South-South
  • 11. Hakeem Akamo Member South-West
  • 12. Motunrayo Akintomide Member South-West
  • 13. RT. Hon. Amaechi Nwoha Member South-East
  • Secretary to the Commission Mr. Olusanya Ajakaiye (April, 2017 – July, 2020)
  • Secretary to the Commission Alh. Yusuf Asir Danbatta, mni (July, 2020- December, 2020)
  • Secretary to the Commission Mr. Ikharo Lucky (December, 2020 till date)